The Great God Pan in My Secret Garden

Some mornings I must think past to the great scientist Jack Parsons and what he would do before every rocket launch, read the Hymn to Pan to bless the rocket.

Io Pan! Io Pan! Come over the sea
From Sicily and from Arcady!
Roaming as Bacchus, with fauns and pards
And nymphs and satyrs for thy guards,
On a milk-white ass, come over the sea
To me, to me…

The poetry of these words resound through my very skull, breaking over my nature to a new world which the pagan gods once again rule. Satyrs, nymphs, and faery run through my loins to new pastures. But what can I, a simple man do to recreate the secret world that these mystic beings once enjoyed? I can create a beautiful garden, a hidden lair that I can escape to and perform these forbidden rites.

First I need a fire, a flame to warm my body against the night. This I would acquire at The Garden Gates in Metairie. The Sierra Outdoor Fireplace is perfect for my needs. As I howl to the dark sky I don’t want to mess with the hassle of wood. I am too busy drinking wine from a goat skin to want to do that. My nature is unveiled in the most horrid of ways, I shall bring forth a flame to illuminate my desires, and those which are strange shall dissipate.

Next I need a pillar of ruin to bring me back forth to the glory days of Arcadia, pedestals which display that I am of timeless wonder and beauty. The Roman Garden Pedestal is a perfect and classy way to reveal the secrets of ancient history, but now, pagan versus modern. Io Pan! Frolic!  Also appropriate would be the Wreath Garden Pedestal, bringing back the Arcadian designs of the ancients.

To think of Pan, the great nature god it is best to have a representation of him. With the Pan Garden Statue by Campania the great satyr god is there, showing his nature to hidden world. But one must be careful when one is close to his pipes for they may reveal the desires one has bound within. The term panic is derived from Pan, and rightfully so. He was a gateway to the frenzied world that we can all so easily succumb to.

Leave a Reply

